Thursday, September 19, 2019

Bloom's Taxonomy vs. Bloom's Revised Taxonomy
     Bloom's Taxonomy was created almost 60 years ago! As an educator, is Bloom's Taxonomy still relevant today? Bloom's original Taxonomy was originally designed based on three domains. These domains included cognitive, affective and psychomotor. The main focus was on the cognitive domain. It was categorized into six different goals. The original Taxonomy were based on nouns, as the Revised Taxonomy was based on verbs. The Revised Taxonomy was written with the classroom of the 21st century in mind. It also reflects how concepts are taught in modern day. 

  • Both Bloom's Taxonomy and Bloom's Revised Taxonomy include crucial elements for students to focus on while reading a text, or listening to a text. 
  • Though Bloom's Taxonomy was created 60 years ago, many of the same questions can be used when applying Bloom's Revised Taxonomy.
  • Both Bloom's Taxonomy and Bloom's Revised Taxonomy provide students a deeper understanding of the text in a way they are engaged in learning. 
  • Based on our knowledge of Differentiated Instruction and Multiple Intelligence, we know that students do not learn in the same way. Bloom's Taxonomy and Bloom's Revised Taxonomy provides a differentiated approach for all learners. 
Bloom's Original Taxonomy

 For resources you can use based on Bloom's Taxonomy and Bloom's Revised Taxonomy check out the following resources:

The best part of Bloom's Taxonomy and Bloom's Revised Taxonomy is that questions can be used in different subject areas, and at so many different grade levels. Students can either ask each other questions using the cards, volunteers, paras, and it is even extremely handy to have out during a read-a-loud with our students. 

Check out one our freebies today to see how Bloom's Taxonomy & Bloom's Revised Taxonomy works in your classroom!


No comments

Post a Comment

Design by Laugh Eat Learn // Theme by pipdig